• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Should I try to add co2

Plantpot

Seedling
Hi, this is my first time posting here. I have a custom made aquarium, it's been running now for about eight years. It's dimensions are length 124 inch height 22 inch depth 18 inch. This tank was built to house my discus fish and back then I had no interest really in plants but since I no longer have the discus my interest in plants has taken off unfortunately for me the plants themselves have not. I was managing to grow some really healthy bba tho, and put this down to my lighting, I was running four 48 inch t8s two on each side of the tank, I have recent replaced them with four fluval fresh and plant 2.0 led's run end to end along the length of the tank. I use easycarbo daily and profito weekly. I do about 33%water change weekly and although I am managing to get rid of the bba I also have a brown algae on some plants which by the way are all slow growing plants java fern, anubias, bucephalandra and some java moss. I know nothing about co2 injection, I wouldn't know where to start. Does anyone here have any ideas why my plants don't grow well.

Did the shop recommend these lamps?
They are decent enough but given your tank height, substrate PAR will be (very?) low - fortunately your plants are considered "low" light - the brown algae you're seeing maybe diatoms which are easily cleared by Otocinlus

Most plants will appreciate (gas) CO2 addition - even slow growers such as you've chosen

If you can post tank photos that would help ...

Thank you for your reply. Yes a shop recommended these lights, a very well known shop. I will post a pic later cos I'm not sure how to do it I will ask my daughter for help. I have a kind of water sprite floating on top of the water can't remember exactly what it is, maybe I should remove it to help with the lighting.