• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Using EI without CO2 please help

stan1973

Hi
I'm new to all this EI dosing but can't wait to give it a try. I've had the tank set up a week with a few plants, i've been adding some nourish (trace ferts) but the new growth is yellow and small and have some brown algae on some of the leaves. I have some dry ferts on their way - potassium nitrate, potassium sulphate, potassium phosphate (mono basic) and trace mix.

As the title says I don't add CO2 to my tank, its a 5'x18"x18" so about 300L. The substrate is tesco cat litter on its own (the stuff recommended on here that looks like akadama). I have 3x58W T8s and a 1100L/hr working capacity external filter with spraybar

I want to know how much ferts I should add given that I'm not adding CO2, does it matter that I'm using a spray bar given there are no fish to produce CO2? Can I make a solution up and just add a daily amount? should I stick to a 50% water change per week? I don't have any fish at the moment, I was just planning to grow plants on their own for a month or two.
My tap water according to the Yorkshire water website has a GH of 11, full report below:

Water quality report

Substance.........Typical value....UK/European limit......Unit
Calcium............58.5000...................-...................mg Ca/l
Magnesium........6.4575....................- ..................mg Mg/l
Residual
chlorine - free...0.20........................-...................mg/l Cl2
Residual
chlorine - total..0.29.......................-...................mg/l Cl2
Coliforms.........0..........................0...................no/100ml
E-coli..............0..........................0...................no/100ml
Aluminium.......14.132...................200.................µg Al/l