• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Newbie - Fluval Plant 3.0 / Fluval Shaker 168

martins8585

Hi - I'm a newbie so apologies in advance if this is a stupid question but after a Google I'm struggling to find an answer.

I've recently set up a Fluval Shaker 168 which I'm happy with and has been running for around 5 weeks. As I'm keen to ensure my plants thrive I decided to upgrade the lighting but due to the location of the tank and children in the house I wanted keep the lids in place. After some research I found this limited my options and went with the Plant 3.0 36W.

After installing the light I noticed it sits higher than the light that came in the tank and under the lower lid (there's two in place that slide under / over each other) although it's not touching, the gap between the lower lid and the top of the light is only around 1mm.

Having had the light running it doesn't seem to get especially warm but does anyone have any thoughts on whether this is likely to cause any issues?

Comments from anyone that's done a similar thing and fitted this light to their Shaker aquarium would be particularly welcome.

Thank you in advance.

Cheers
Martin

Thank you for your question it was around 5mm with the old light and the picture should give a better idea.
Fluval Plant .jpg

Hi all,
Welcome to UKAPS.
Having had the light running it doesn't seem to get especially warm
I'm going to guess that is the important bit.
..... and has been running for around 5 weeks. As I'm keen to ensure my plants thrive I decided to upgrade the lighting
How do your plants look at the moment? Can we have a full tank shot of the plants? It will really help us.

cheers Darrel

Thank you for your question it was around 5mm with the old light and the picture should give a better idea.