• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

New 5f Tank. Flow setup. Planted

Hi all,
This is my first post here and I am sure this question has been answered but being a bit slow sometimes I am still not sure I get it right.
I'll just add a little bit of background information in case it matters. I am new to plants although I do have 4 tanks with easy going plants that I somehow manage to keep alive but it's like walking in the dark at the moment.

I am setting up a 5f tank(2nd hand) that holds about 375 litres of water if filled to the top. It's going to be planted as well. So far I have used only inert substrates and now I've decided to try the mineralized topsoil approach capped with something, depending on what I find locally.

I have a question about setting up the flow to suit the plants best. I read here that spraybars along the back maybe the best approach. So far I have two filters, an old Eheim 2026(1000L/H) and a new APS(2000L/H). On the picture below you can see how I've setup the filters so far, two spraybars along the back and an intake on each side of the tank. The problem is that although the flow does seem to be working like it should, coming from the spraybars, hitting the front glass, travel down to front bottom, then from the front to the back bottom, so far so good, but I see it gathers all the debris just there at the back bottom. So I am wondering, do I need an extra push by something else, like powerheads on the two sides next to the spraybars to keep the settling particles suspended in water longer or should I not worry?

I also have a TMS V2 fluidised sand bed filter with an Eheim 1250 pump that I can hook to the tank somehow as well.

Thanks in advance for your suggestions and advise.

Here are a couple of pictures

You can see the two black spraybars along the back:
dscf3766q.jpg