• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

My Water

Hi All,

I've been running a tank for 3 weeks now. I'm new to all this so probably dived in a bit to quick. I did the tank the way I like it and things are growing. Tank is fishless and will remain so for time being (I'm going on holiday end of june to july so don't want to add anything till I'm back)

Anyway, in getting lost in making my tank look all nice and choosing a sand I liked (not realising about KH etc.) I hadn't put too much thought into water hardness.

My water is Anglian Water and is described as very hard, with my GH being 16 degrees and the KH being between 10 and 15 degrees. I've tested the tap water and my partners temperate tank and they both give the same GH and KH reading however the PH level in the tap water is about 7.2 and in both our tanks it is 7.8, so I would assume that the rocks or the substrate is boosting this.

So my question

...I'm erading some conflicing stuff, using softeners, RO's etc. and others. which I don't want to do. I also don't wnat to change my sand etc.

And I've seen posts with one guy saying not to bother with tests, just keep it clean and well maintained and fish will be fine (which I like!)

What advise to I go with?

p.s I did want Tetra's (Blood Thin at the moment I like)