• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

first aquascape 30l nano

Mrmikey

Hi everyone,

Heres my mini journal on my 30l nano tank which I started about a week and a bit a go. I though I'd post a journal as I'm a beginner at this as you will probably see from the pics:)

I would give myself a 5 out of 10 rating and that being generous! Feel free to rate it out of ten as well. Hopefully you guys will tell me where I have gone wrong and suggestions be made on how to make it look better. If it involves moving plants around or getting new ones Thats all good.

Equipment
30l Nano cube
Dennerle co2 80g
Dennerle crystal set
3x11 w lights
Dennerle corner filter
heater

Plants

3x HC
1x dwarf hair grass
1x moss
1x Limnobium laevigatum
1x Pogostemon Helferi
1x nano petite (clipping that survived from old tank)
1x Anubias bart v. nana

Decorations
ADA Seiryu Stone
red moor wood
black gravel

Substrate & fert
substrate is Tetra
liquid fert by Dennerle

Fish
3x kuhli loach
2x butterfly loach
4x Neon tetra
2x dwarf corries
1x guppie
4x crystal reds
2x big shrimp (dont know what to be honest)

Here was day 1 when I set up the tank with the hardscape. I thought it looked alright and was quite happy but it seemed to go down hill from here!

img2392tj.jpg

I let the tank cycle for a week and a half before adding the plants. Picture below is my attempt at planting. It was tricky and I messed up my nice black gravel!! gonna get some long tweezers and scissors I've seen on ebay.

jpegsmall2psd.jpg

Heres what I've noticed over a week and a half since planting: HC has lost is viberante green and now looks a like darker and in small areas is turning a bit yellow/brown. It may be algae? or it may be dying. But amazingly its growing!