Fire extinguisher CO2

Discussion in 'Tutorials' started by Themuleous, 11 Sep 2007.

  1. aaronnorth

    aaronnorth Member

    Joined:
    19 Feb 2008
    Messages:
    3,953
    Location:
    worksop, nottinghamshire
    yes except you have to set the bar while the gas is coming out, it should already be set around that anyway, so probably wont need doing, mine is it 2.1bar.
     
  2. R1ch13

    R1ch13 Member

    Joined:
    29 Feb 2008
    Messages:
    73
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Thats me sorted then :)

    Thanks for all the help everyone..

    In particular Aaron...

    Cheers bud

    Richie
     
  3. maj74

    maj74 Member

    Joined:
    19 Oct 2008
    Messages:
    26
    Right,

    it looks like I'm getting a CO2 system so being a cheap skate I'll give the FE method a try!

    I'm looking to pick up a FE and regulator off ebay. I take it the german regulater seller is still as good as any to go for?

    The only bit I'm a little lost on still is the solenoid bit, to ensure the co2 is only on when the plants are on.

    Where do I get one of these solenoids from and how is it attached to the FE system?

    Thanks in advance for any info!
     
  4. LondonDragon

    LondonDragon Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    21 Feb 2008
    Messages:
    10,312
    Location:
    London
    Lunapet sell both the regulator and the selonoid, I have both of them and works great with an FE, and the selonoid just attaches to the regulator, its simple really.
     
  5. Superman

    Superman Member

    Joined:
    29 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    1,804
    Location:
    Cheltenham
    The solenoid goes on the Co2 hose from the regulator to the diffuser or reactor. Easy to connect.

    You can get all from Lunapet (where I got my 500g bottle, regulator and solenoid)

    Solenoid... (~£18)
    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/CO2-Nachtabschalt ... m153.l1262

    Regulator... (~£40) - It'll come with a 2-pin plug so be prepared to rewire.
    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/CO2-Doppelmanomet ... m153.l1262

    You'll also need...
    - Co2 tubing
    - Diffuser/Reactor
    - Check Valve

    See Dan's thread on the buy/sell/swap forum as he does the 2kg FEs for a very reasonable price!
     
  6. Themuleous

    Themuleous Member

    Joined:
    6 Jul 2007
    Messages:
    4,124
    Location:
    Aston, Oxfordshire
    FYI - you don't have to use a solenoid, I run my co2 24/7, ok it uses it up quicker, but even on my 4ft a 2kg FE lasts around 3 months.

    Sam
     
  7. R1ch13

    R1ch13 Member

    Joined:
    29 Feb 2008
    Messages:
    73
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Hey guys!

    Just totell you all that all my items arrived :)

    And all i need now is an FE and the c02 side of things is done.

    One question though, could be a dumb one at that.

    Is the big knob on the front of the reg suppost to turn or does it only turn when it is all connected up to the FE and the FE has been fired?

    Because mine doesnt turn one bit :bored:

    Hahaha

    Thanks alot

    Richie
     
  8. Themuleous

    Themuleous Member

    Joined:
    6 Jul 2007
    Messages:
    4,124
    Location:
    Aston, Oxfordshire
    It should turn even without the cylinder attached, I assume you've given it a really good tug?

    Sam
     
  9. Behold

    Behold Member

    Joined:
    6 Aug 2008
    Messages:
    219
    Location:
    Basingstoke. Hants
    Whats this guys UK Delivery charge???
     
  10. Egmel

    Egmel Member

    Joined:
    28 Mar 2008
    Messages:
    724
    Location:
    Guildford, Surrey, UK
    Lunapet were about EUR 20 for a regulator, solenoid and a few misc bits to be delivered to the uk, mine arrived yesterday :D .
    Dan charges £7 for fire extinguisher delivery no matter how many you get (without being silly).
     
  11. R1ch13

    R1ch13 Member

    Joined:
    29 Feb 2008
    Messages:
    73
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Yeah buddy!

    Ive yanked it well hard but still not turning :bored:

    The needle valve turns fine, just not he big valve to set the bar rate.

    Richie
     
  12. Steve Smith

    Steve Smith Member

    Joined:
    19 Jul 2007
    Messages:
    4,423
    Location:
    Leamington Spa, UK.
    any arrows on it indicating which way to turn it? Shouldn't have to force it though... is this a new reg? Has it worked before?
     
  13. R1ch13

    R1ch13 Member

    Joined:
    29 Feb 2008
    Messages:
    73
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Nope buddy!

    No arrows on it, its a brand new Aquatic Magic one from ebay.

    Ive never used it before, or any other reg for that matter haha.

    Any ideas?

    Richie
     
  14. Steve Smith

    Steve Smith Member

    Joined:
    19 Jul 2007
    Messages:
    4,423
    Location:
    Leamington Spa, UK.
    Um, email them for a start :(

    It should turn, or you can't open it up and allow CO2 into the needle valve... I take it you get no CO2 comming through?
     
  15. R1ch13

    R1ch13 Member

    Joined:
    29 Feb 2008
    Messages:
    73
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    I dont have a FE yet lol...

    Im still in the buying stages of my set up.

    But i know it was suppost to turn anyway... so thats why im asking now :)

    Richie
     
  16. Themuleous

    Themuleous Member

    Joined:
    6 Jul 2007
    Messages:
    4,124
    Location:
    Aston, Oxfordshire
    Which AM reg is it, the one with the solenoid attached?

    Sam
     
  17. R1ch13

    R1ch13 Member

    Joined:
    29 Feb 2008
    Messages:
    73
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
  18. Steve Smith

    Steve Smith Member

    Joined:
    19 Jul 2007
    Messages:
    4,423
    Location:
    Leamington Spa, UK.
    That looks more like a nut than an adjuster. Maybe it's "pre-set" ? Not sure if that's possible...

    Might be worth taking this onto a new post, we're kinda getting off topic :)
     
  19. R1ch13

    R1ch13 Member

    Joined:
    29 Feb 2008
    Messages:
    73
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Yeah i was thinking that!

    Aaron did mention his was already set to 2bar!

    Richie
     
  20. Ed Seeley

    Ed Seeley Member

    Joined:
    3 Jul 2007
    Messages:
    3,261
    Location:
    Nottingham
    My one from AM is preset and it has no main valve to adjust the pressure. You just attach it to the FE and then adjust via the needle valve, easy-peasy!
     

Share This Page

Facebook Page
Twitter Page
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice