DIY Reactor - pictures, assembly and testing

Discussion in 'Completed DIY Projects' started by Ed Seeley, 31 Jan 2009.

  1. JohnC

    JohnC Member

    Joined:
    14 Nov 2008
    Messages:
    1,069
    Location:
    On a mountain in the Highlands of Scotland
    I have to mirror this, pls don't feel pressured from our end. You are doing us a MASSIVE favour and i at least am vastly enjoying this journal. Add to that the usefulness of this piece of writing to others wanting to do the same in the future, you are doing good work.

    Best Regards,

    John
     
  2. LondonDragon

    LondonDragon Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    21 Feb 2008
    Messages:
    10,312
    Location:
    London
    There is no rush Ed I wouldn't be getting one if you were not to make them anyway, so I can wait as long as it takes to get all ready. Best to wait and get something that will work properly or get it done in a rush and then it leaking. Great work mate :)
     
  3. Ed Seeley

    Ed Seeley Member

    Joined:
    3 Jul 2007
    Messages:
    3,261
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Thanks guys. That's much appreciated. I will get them to you ASAP.
     
  4. Tony Swinney

    Tony Swinney Member

    Joined:
    14 Dec 2008
    Messages:
    1,187
    Location:
    Cobham, Surrey
    No problem and no rush on my part either Ed. Still no sign of my new tank yet anyway :(

    As already said I'm enjoying this thread anyway :D

    Tony
     
  5. Egmel

    Egmel Member

    Joined:
    28 Mar 2008
    Messages:
    724
    Location:
    Guildford, Surrey, UK
    Ditto.

    Though I can imagine you're getting to the stage where you just want rid of all the bits sculling around your place! :lol:
     
  6. a1Matt

    a1Matt Member

    Joined:
    10 Mar 2008
    Messages:
    2,497
    Location:
    Bromley
    I just want to say that when I built my DIY reactor it took me a few attempts to get it right. At times it was exceptionally frustrating :twisted: . Seeing how effective it was afterwards made it worth all the effort ;) So hang in there Ed! :D
     
  7. Simon D

    Simon D Member

    Joined:
    22 Sep 2008
    Messages:
    460
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    I've got to get a conservatory built to house some existing furnature from the living and then get the new tank into the living room without the wife noticing. She loves the tanks when setup, but hates to see me working at them!

    No rush for me or the wife. If you could send 10mm at a time she wouldn't notice the gradual change.

    I'm just about to procure a new external to run this on (TT EX1200) and will probably run it in my existing 2 footer initially. I've not had an external (filter) before so maybe I should get this up and running and understand the full workings of it before adding a reactor (OK, I understand the basics and its not too difficult is it??).

    Either way ED, no rush for me!
     
  8. Ed Seeley

    Ed Seeley Member

    Joined:
    3 Jul 2007
    Messages:
    3,261
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Cheers all of you. Good to know you're not all sitting there fuming with the delays! I'll get them right and get them done soon, but better right and a couple of weeks late than rushed out and leaking!
     
  9. Aeropars

    Aeropars Member

    Joined:
    9 Jul 2007
    Messages:
    798
    Location:
    Leicester
    Great stuff ed!

    I have an aquamas reactor with netting in. Would you recommend i remove this? I never thought about it but watching it I cant see it does anything massive to churn up the bubbles.
     
  10. samc

    samc Member

    Joined:
    28 Oct 2008
    Messages:
    1,381
    i dnt think eds the purse kinda guy :lol:
     
  11. JamesM

    JamesM Member

    Joined:
    17 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    1,913
    Location:
    The BIG End, South Wales
    SPAM is sooooo under rated. :lol:
     
  12. Simon D

    Simon D Member

    Joined:
    22 Sep 2008
    Messages:
    460
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    I just caught the spam post before it was deleted, otherwise I'd have been a bit worried about Ed and purses! :lol:
     
  13. Ed Seeley

    Ed Seeley Member

    Joined:
    3 Jul 2007
    Messages:
    3,261
    Location:
    Nottingham
    I didn't catch the spam and am slightly worried!!! :wideyed: :lol: Definitely no purses here, no! :lol:

    As to the Aquamas reactor Aeropars I'm not too sure with that as I believe it's a much shorter reactor than the ones I'm making. Maybe you will need the mesh to help slow the flow more rapidly? IF you don't want it there for some reason then I would try removing it and see what happens. Or maybe you could reduce or replace the netting with bioballs or something instead? What's the problem with putting the mesh in? Do you think it slows the flow?
     
  14. Egmel

    Egmel Member

    Joined:
    28 Mar 2008
    Messages:
    724
    Location:
    Guildford, Surrey, UK
    Me neither and now I'm intrigued!
     
  15. Aeropars

    Aeropars Member

    Joined:
    9 Jul 2007
    Messages:
    798
    Location:
    Leicester
    Ed,

    I'm not really sure. My reactor doesnt diffuse very well and i am wondering if its because the flow is interrupted too much. It also restricts the upward movement of the CO2 bubbles making them more inclined to get stuck then blown out the filter outlet. I'm using a ceramic diffuser at the moment but want to give the aquamas reactor another go as I beleive it would be more efficient and would also me more asthetic without the bubbles blowing around the tank.

    Lee
     
  16. Ed Seeley

    Ed Seeley Member

    Joined:
    3 Jul 2007
    Messages:
    3,261
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Does the CO2 bubble straight into the reactor? If so maybe you could try injecting the CO2 into the flow of the water before it reaches the reactor as it will have already started to mix then and might do a better job?
     
  17. a1Matt

    a1Matt Member

    Joined:
    10 Mar 2008
    Messages:
    2,497
    Location:
    Bromley
    :lol: :lol: :lol: I laughed out loud when I read this.
     
  18. plantbrain

    plantbrain Expert

    Joined:
    2 Aug 2007
    Messages:
    1,946
    Ed you can add the venturi loop to this by addign another air valve about 6 cm down to atomize the gas build up inside later in the day, this will improve overall performance and reduce backpressure.

    See my web site on the dual venturi in line.

    Regards,
    Tom Barr
     
  19. a1Matt

    a1Matt Member

    Joined:
    10 Mar 2008
    Messages:
    2,497
    Location:
    Bromley
    I am a big fan of Tom's venturi loop design. It works great as an 'automated bleed valve' as well.
    I have found that it does need a high flow rate to work effectively (in proportion to the size of the reactor of course).
     
  20. Aeropars

    Aeropars Member

    Joined:
    9 Jul 2007
    Messages:
    798
    Location:
    Leicester
    Yeah iot goes in at the bottom of the reactor so the bubble rises against the flow of the water.
     

Share This Page

Facebook Page
Twitter Page
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice