• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up
  • Most of the remaining team are off on holiday meaning the forum does not have sufficient cover. As such the site will be placed in maintenance mode where it can be viewed but no posts/threads can be made and will remain this way until August 11th, apologies for the inconvience.

Cycling my first new tank

Val1311

I need help! I am a total beginner to keeping an aquarium and every time I go on the internet for advice I read something different.
I have purchased an 80 litre tank. 3 days ago I did the following:-
1) planted 5 aquarium plants in a basket of fertiliser substrate placed in tank and covered the remaining base of the tank with sand and planted a couple more plants.
2) arranged a few brown volcanic rocks.
3) filled the tank with 80 litres of soft water
4) started the filter
5) set the heater to 24 degrees and turned on.
6) On filling I added appropriate amount of water conditioner, starter bacteria, liquid CO2 fertiliser and plants green fertiliser as per advice on bottles.
7) Today added more CO2
8) Today tested water with 5 in 1 dipstick and
PH<6.4,
KH 3,
GH 3,
Nitrate <0,
Nitrite 0.
The water looks lovely and clear and has done since day 2. See photos.
I am going away for a few days in mid December and do not like asking a neighbour to feed the fish when I am still a novice myself, I have no intention of adding fish until about 15 December.
My question is should I do partial water changes prior to the fish being added and if so how often?
Thanks for your help.
Val

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    2.2 MB · Views: 147
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    1.7 MB · Views: 96
I imagine you've probably read:

1 - add magic bacteria and you can add fish straight away
2 - you need to cycle a tank with ammonia and this takes weeks