• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

To test or wait?

Fluxtor

Hi all, so I'm very new to co2 and have a tank setup ready to go and plants on order. I've been dark starting the tank for 3 weeks and I've just rigged up the co2 ready for the delivery of plants this weekend. Would it be okay to run the c02 on a timer as a test before I plant or will it have a negative effect and cause algae? Obviously dark start I will drain down, plant and then refill so any co2 in the water should be removed. To be honest I think the dark start was probably a waste of time as I've had zero readings from all my param tests so I doubt the tank has even cycled yet.

Specs are:
Superfish Scaper 60
Oase Biomaster Thermo 250
Colombo Nutribase capped with Pool Filter Sand
Seiryu Stone and Redwood

The co2 will be from a pressurised bottle using a co2 art regulator and inline diffuser. I was only thinking of testing for a few hours on the timer to make sure it comes on and off as required!

TIA

Hi all,
So okay to test then?
I'm not a CO2 user, but I think people tend to get their CO2 levels dialled in while they don't have any fish etc.

You can play with where to put the drop checker etc., before you have any plants. Once you have plants in they will use some CO2, but at that point you are only doing fine tuning.

cheers Darrel

Trying to dial in the CO2 before livestock is a great idea, doing it before plants is even better IMO. As if the CO2 is dialled in correctly before the tank is planted then the plants only have to get use to the new 'stable' CO2 levels and not the fluctuating levels of CO2 you get when dialling in the CO2

Thanks guys! I've set it up on a timer but currently still not running any light. I will be draining the tank before I plant but hopefully by testing now I can get it dialled in as you say!