• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

New house, new pond...

Jack B

I've moved from a flat in East London to a house in Salisbury - which comes with a pond... About 1.6m x 60cm, so nothing too glam, but I'd like to run it as best I can, with wildlife as the focus.

• Lots of sludge in the bottom
  • Has filled up with water quite a bit in the last two days' of rain, so the liner seems alright
  • Plants in, and around, and above... I'm no expert, so plenty I don't recognise
  • Have a good source of collected rainwater in the vicinity: two waterbutts, about 1.5m below the level of the pond. Would be fun to set up an autofill system
  • An electric cable exiting the garage and heading underground towards the pond...maybe for a long-forgotten water feature? I'll have a dig around
  • 15month old daughter giddy with excitement at exploring the garden, but no swimming badges

I'll get a metal grill over it for safety's sake, but then...?

I'd be grateful for any tips / thoughts from more experienced pond keepers - this is my first 🙂 Quite excited!

Attachments

• 20240823_154237.jpg
    20240823_154237.jpg
    4.6 MB · Views: 81
  • 20240823_154233.jpg
    20240823_154233.jpg
    5.5 MB · Views: 84
  • 20240823_153944.jpg
    20240823_153944.jpg
    3.4 MB · Views: 70
  • 20240823_153923.jpg
    20240823_153923.jpg
    3.8 MB · Views: 64
  • 20240823_153913.jpg
    20240823_153913.jpg
    4.8 MB · Views: 77
The tall plant in the corner is rosebay willowherb or similar, and that is a waterlily in the bottom. The willowherb likes moist areas but is not a true aquatic. I don't see any other marginal or aquatic plants.