• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Myriophyllum Brasiliensis

Majorbloodnok

Seedling
Hi, all; forum noob here.

Having just installed a small preformed liner pond to replace a duckweed-infested concrete-lined hole I inherited, I'm now on the learning curve trying to understand different aquatic plant species. The idea is to create a wildlife garden that can better support the newts and frogs that were struggling in the old, stagnant water, and to encourage a wider range of pond life at the same time.

Now, from the research I and my family have done, we realise the pond needs something to oxygenate the water, something sticking out for the dragonflies and so on, some water cover and something to give future tadpoles etc. a bit of shelter. As a result, we've got a minature bulrush, a water lily, a water soldier and some myriophyllum brasiliensis - all recommendations from an aquatic plant retailer (not one of the major chains, but he seemed fairly knowledgeable, and I wasn't risking a fortune if he proved a bit useless).

Now, I've been reading further and found all the stuff about myriophyllum aquaticum being banned for sale by UK plant centres, so my conscience is pricking me. I realise what I've bought doesn't have that name, but I was concerned enough to try to track down the details further, and that's the reason for this meandering long post. Firstly, I've found spp. brasiliensis isn't a true botanical species name - just a trade name - but I can't find anywhere on t'interweb that definitively states what the real species is. I have found several very strong hints that it is a red-stemmed cultivar of spp. aquaticum, which is worrying, but I've also found one or two implications that it is a lower impact species instead. Which to believe if no-one will tell me exactly which species it is?