• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Homing In On Cyanobacteria (aka 'BGA')

jaypeecee

Hi Everyone,

As some of you may know, I took an interest in Cyanobacteria some time ago*. Specifically, how do we keep this Blue-Green Menace under control? Preferably, eliminated. I'm finally homing in on a possible answer. There are, in fact, a few options but some are more workable/practical than others. Within the next few days, I'll finalize what I think is the best option and explain further. There is one important caveat that I'll draw to everyone's attention. And that is that I am not an expert in this field, merely a hobbyist who had grown weary of seeing Cyano in any of my tanks.

* please see Cyanobacteria Identification - At Last!

To be continued...

JPC

Hi Folks,

I figured that it was (once again) time to add to this thread, which I see as a 'Work In Progress'. I ask that anyone interested views it in this light.

Over the last few months, I have carried out a few experiments to see if it's possible to keep Cyanobacteria (aka BGA) under control, nay, eliminated. Coupled with this, I have read a good many scientific papers to improve my understanding of the factors that promote Cyano. To date, I have identified the following as being important (in no particular order):

[1] Water pH

[2] Water hardness

[3] Phosphate

[4] Iron (and Oxidative Stress)

[5] Total Organic Carbon/Dissolved Organic Matter

I still think it's possible to prevent and eliminate Cyano from our tanks. Indeed, I have done just that in one of my tanks. I'll provide a link.

To be continued...

JPC

Last edited:
Hi Folks,

I figured that it was high time for me to add to this thread, which I'm hoping to approach as a 'Work In Progress'. I ask that anyone interested views it in this light.