• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Hi all. New member

chris521957

Hi everyone. Joined the forum last week but have only just had the time to post. My name is Chris and i live in Preston Lancs. My partner , Maggie and me are just in the process of finishing the refurbishment of our flat. We have decided to have a fish tank in the living room and we are looking for advice. I have plenty of experience with fish, i used to breed Malawi Cichlids( very successfully), but have no idea about planted tanks. The tank we have been looking at is 36"x15"x18". We would like it quite well planted with just a few fish. I am also looking at using Unipac Aquasand(Limpopo black) as my substrate. Possibly a Fluval 405 ext filter. I really need help with which plants, lighting, keeping the plants well fed and thriving, can it be done without Co2 or is this essential for the health of the plants?. I have read a few articles about the diy co2 systems and will be attempting to make one of these this weekend. Not sure if my water will affect which plants i can have but i am sure someone here can help with that. The fish i am looking at are a few Rams, cardinal tetras, corys and a couple of other small high water swimmers.
My water perams are:

PH 6.4
KH <3deg
GH <4deg
No2 0
No3 0
Chlorine 0.8
This is straight from the tap, i know things will change during the cycle, but i can cope with that. My 1st question is, should i cycle with or without plants?
Thanks in advance for any advice. Chri/Maggie.

Hello! and welcome!