• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

First time fish tank - comments/suggestions?

NorthCoast

A few weeks ago I was looking at a friends 75 gallon planted tank and then went down a rabbit hole on YouTube/these forums and it has really sparked an interest.

Anyways, this is my first time setting up a fish tank/trying aquascaping.

The tank is an ADA 45p (45x27x30). Initially I was going to go for a 20-30 gallon but the wife isn’t as excited as I am so I settled on this 10 gallon betts tank for my daughter.

The hardscapenisnt exactly what I had initially planned, and I was going to go for something in a little more random/natural but as I played around with the materials I had this just kind of worked. The plan is to heavily plant it, and hopefully lean into the triangle composition, with mostly a variety of green plants with red in the top right (some red background plants)

The bottom right with the sand and white rocks will be filled in properly after planting, just trying to minimize the mess. Currently sitting full of water and filter running with APT start. Doing a 3-4 week dark start, followed by loading plants and then introducing snails and shrimp a week or two later. Following that maybe 8 ember tetras, and then a few weeks later introduce a young betta. My thought is establishing the other fish, and maybe using a breeder box for the beta within the top corner may allow the betta to adjust without murdering the rest of the stock.

Anyways, as I said I’m brand new to this so any comments or ideas are appreciated.

Attachments

• IMG_4584.jpeg
    IMG_4584.jpeg
    4.5 MB · Views: 7
Love your choice of wood. Looks great.

Not sure of the wisdom of API start, without something to start the cycle. Some use ammonia, I favour plants.

Thanks!