• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Cats Amazonia - first planted tank adventure

AndyVox

Current State of Tank 29/7/12:
4d17576a.jpg

Ive been keeping fish for the last 3-4 years, but never had any luck with plants so i decided I'd create a setup just to grow plants successfully and create a beautiful view for my lounge :D

So I started out with this:
Picture004-1.jpg

Juwel Rio 300 aquarium, at this point I was using two T8 bulbs and some CO2, nothing great and growth was very slow. And sometimes even dying...

I then upgraded to a 4x54w Arcadia T5HO unit which pushed things alot. Dosing more CO2 and additives, everything seemed to be coming along nicely. It's only been four days since I got the light but the difference is unbelievable.

Picture009.jpg

Picture006.jpg

Picture007-1.jpg

I couldn't get enough CO2 out of the diffuser to turn my test green so I used the homemade yeast setup to push bubbles onto the filter outlet pipe which spreads the bubbles nicely along the tank and have since stopped using the Tetra Plan bottle and diffusers.

Now looking like this (apologies for the awful photo)

Picture012.jpg

Picture013.jpg

Picture014.jpg

Picture015.jpg

Little video of the Photosynthesis going on, crazy amount of bubble coming from the plants!

Any advice or help on improving the layout I'd be keen to hear.
I'm hoping once it grows through a bit it'll look much better. Considering I have only been at high light and decent CO2 levels for 3-4 days I'm very pleased.
Java moss on the left is getting hacked down tonight, It's out of control!!

Re: Juwel Rio 300 - First planted tank - Upgrade to T5's

yeast co2 is very unreliable you'd be better off switching back to your pressurised bottles and injecting that into an inline diffuser or reactor on your external filter

hinch said: