• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Attacked fish.

Luciën

20240822_114352.jpg
My nanacara got attacked by its female. I've put him in a floating box now because she doesn't leave him alone. Can I do something about it and will he survive this?

Are you sure that was caused by an attack?

Are you sure that was caused by an attack?
100%, yesterday he was just fine and today I found him like that. The female just kept chasing him around the tank something she's never done like that before not even with her fry always kept a fairly small territory. Even now in the floating box she keeps flaring at him.

OK, I'm not an injury expert @Luciën , but I researched Popeye caused by trauma. Seems that there are comments that the fish could recover naturally - keeping them away from the trauma causer and also keep the water parameters very very good for the impacted fish. Some suggest a level of salt to help healing, but most say good water quality, observation and being kept away from further trauma.

100%, yesterday he was just fine and today I found him like that. The female just kept chasing him around the tank something she's never done like that before

Could be bacterial or a building up of air behind the eye. When fish get popeye other fish may attack them due to their unusual and erratic behaviour.

Can I do something about it and will he survive this?

It looks bad but fish can survive this. In addition to what @Bradders has already covered, be sure any water changes you do are temperature matched. Keep an eye on your other fish to see if anything else is affected. If so, you can treat with anti fungal meds if it’s a larger tank wide issue.