• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

What am I doing wrong? Using so much co2

newscaper

I’m stumped - again!

So I’ve been injecting co2 for about 2 months into my 130l 80x40x40 cm tank.

I use a drop checker to gauge co2 levels and have closely observed inhabitants for any changes.

Routine is co2 on an hour before lights and off an hour before lights off.

Light on at 7am off 8.30am then on again at 4.30pm and off at 10.30pm.

Running roughly between 8-10 bps (seems a lot).

Drop checker has only be changing colour after I moved it around the tank several times. I also moved the ceramic diffuser several times until I managed to balance out and get the drop checker to go lime green.

Biggest problem by far is the amount of co2 I have to use to get the drop checker to change. So far in 8 weeks I’ve gone through 1.5kg so 2 and a half 500g proflora canisters. This seems a lot? I’ve now run out again.

As advised I’ve thoroughly checked for leaks on the system and found none. I may be injecting more than 8-10 bps but only to get the drop checker to change really.

Oh and I’ve changed the shop purchased co2 checker fluid several times in this period.

The tanks not heavily planted and I’ve have no visible issues with anything so I’m at a complete loss to workout why I’m using so much co2?

What would ‘normal’ or ‘average’ co2 usage for a 130L moderately planted tank? I am aware all tanks are different but I’m just trying to understand roughly where I should be in order to workout if there is an on going problem.

Lfs charges £22 for a co2 refill too so it’s getting expensive.

Any help much appreciated.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Has to be flow related if you're sure about no leaks

What inlet do you have and how much surface agitation?

Has to be flow related if you're sure about no leaks