• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

C02 injection with already low ph

Wyattcr

Hi all,

I am new to c02 and thinking about adding c02 to my planted tank, however i know it can lower ph and my oh level currently sits at 6.4 ppm. Will adding c02 make it too low for the livestock in my tank? Would i need to buffer the ph to allow for any kind of drop.

Thanks in advance

First of all, we don't know your livestock. Secondly, if you're blessed with acidic water - and presumably soft at that - why bother with CO2?

Thanks for commenting. This livestock isnt a priority as yet as ive not chosen them and want to base my choice and the right levels dor them. My dGH is 5 and dKH is 2 if this helps

If the dKH of your tap water is correct and is 2dKH, then your degassed pH can't really be 6.4.

What are you taking the pH measurement of, fresh tap water? Water straight out of the tap typically has a fair amount of dissolved CO2 in it, so try putting some in a clean glass, leaving it to degas for 24 hours, and then measuring again.

These are all being tested using cycled tank water it's built and ready to go i did these tests based on the water from that. Apologies im a bit of a noob hence asking for advice before getting anything.

Hi all,
If the dKH of your tap water is correct and is 2dKH, then your degassed pH can't really be 6.4.
That is just because of inorganic chemistry, there is a <"CO2 ~ dKH ~ pH equilibrium"> and if you have 2 dKH you need more than atmospheric levels of CO2 to get to pH 6.4. That is why @Wookii was interested in if it was recently drawn tap water, this would be likely to have higher (than ambient) dissolved CO2 present.