• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

When to abandon a live bearer strain

Garuf

Hello hello

I’ve been keeping a turquoise flanked strain of endlers for about 2 years now, I had been selecting the nicest male, adding it to a tank of only females and then removing all the fry waiting till they showed colours and then splitting males from females.

Every few month I’d add new females, thinking I was improving genetics.

However I have been less ruthless lately and wanting to make life simpler moved to “natural” breeding with all the endlers in together and breeding without my selecting.

However this generation I have started to notice potbellied males, something until now I haven’t had and only seen in much weaker strains of things like guppies and mollies.

At what point do I abandon the strain, assuming that these deformities are now “in the genes” and not wanting to end up with weak lines like guppies?

I haven’t needed to cull before now, my breedjects have always had good body form so have been traded but is it now time to cull these males out?

I can rule out constipation, the body deformity started to show before colouring up.

Attachments

• AD071CFB-C8E6-485E-A97C-37F01421DB74.jpeg
    AD071CFB-C8E6-485E-A97C-37F01421DB74.jpeg
    1.8 MB · Views: 345
Well from my point of view adding males would be better than girls. As a breeder of things I always felt it was better to develop a strong female line ,then pick outstanding males for stud and genetic diversity,to stop those recessive genes meeting each other.
Problem lies in that most fish are bred in similar places commercially so may well be more closely related than you would wish.