• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

What camera?

Derek113

I am a complete novice when it comes to cameras and photography.

Im looking for some pointers in regards as to where to start before i go out and buy a "good looking" camera.

I want one thats good for taking nature photos, birds ect...an outdoor one.
One that has multiple uses, close up pictures, landscapes, that sort of thing.

I had a look around for a beginner camera and found a Fujifilm s2980.

I have decided to start with that. Thanks

Fujifilm has nice snapshot camera's :) i recently bought the HS25EXR (used for very reasonable price €75) and i'm very pleased about it. Has very simple to understand menu features, 24-720 - 30xzoom lens, macro and super macro, shutter speed adjustment, diafragma adjustment, iso 200 /128000, loads of other adjustments. Its a very alround camera for the novice starter, from full auto to more advanced use.. Down side is, it only has jpeg and no raw... The other downside is me :oops: but slowly getting there and it sertainly isn't the camera preventing me from taking nice pics. :thumbup:

The Fujifilm s2980 has 18x zoom and HD camera that looks decent.
Im still waiting on delivery but from a bit of research it looks ok for a novice.
If i like photography then i will go for a DSLR in time.

There are a few with new anti-shake unfortunately I haven't tried them out personally.
I do know a feature that you might want to consider
some cameras have eliminated the view finder for a screen only (the screen only can be an issue in bright sun - you may not be able to see the screen well or when your battery starts to run low - screens use more battery power)