• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Weak or strong light for my first aquascape?

SusanneK

Hi!
I'am a complete beginner and I wonder of you could help me now when I'm preparing for my first aquascape?

I have a 50 liter aquarium (60*30*30) and the original lamp (in the hood) is only 7W and 900 lumen. So I thought that I perhaps need to buy a new stronger lamp and have been looking at the Chihiros LED system series wrgb 2. Do you think I should buy that or is my old lamp ok to start an easy-plant aquascape? Or should I buy a cheeper white-led lamp – perhaps I won’t see any difference?

If I buy a new strong light I am afraid I will get algiers… If I increase the light will not the risk of algiers rise?

I have not yet decided what plants to buy, but I want to have some beautiful red ones in the future... :)

And anther concern I have is that if I buy a lamp that does not have a hood (I know I have to do that :) ) will not my Amano shrimps run away then?

Maybe get an adjustable light, so you can vary the intensity? George Farmer talks about the light being the gas pedal in a low energy setup, so it is the main control mechanism for plant (and algae growth). Its about getting a balance, if you see algae, reduce the light intensity or just keep it on for less, 6 hours instead of 7. You could try this with your current light. If you choose the right plants, you maybe ok. Fast growing stems, hygrophila etc .

Make sure you have lots of plants to use up the excess nutrients. My top tip, is pack the tank with plants. Red plants require a lot of work, so maybe hold off till you have the basics sorted.

I've had a single amano crawl out of a tank, of about 100 or more shrimp I've owned over the last few years, I don't think it is that common. I found it under my broadband router!

Good luck!

Hi!