• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Water parameter & plant help!

Jan_H

Hi,

I am relatively new to the hobby (having aquarium one year). Useful information on this forum made me register and ask for help. I have a 300 liter tank. I used tap water that was treated by a water softener (ion exchange Ca/Mg -> Na). During this period GH was 5, KH 16-18. Suboptimal plant growth; all my plants are beginners' plants. After repeatedly reading that such water is not good for aquariums, I have installed an additional valve upstream from the ion exchanger. Since November (=4 months now) I use untreated water for every water exchange. GH has gradually risen and now it stable (GH=KH=16-18). Things have improved. I see better growth of the plants, but I also fight with algae (pretty much all - diatoms, GSA, BBA, BGA).

NO2 is not an issue (not measurable), fish are doing fine.

I am using CO2 from the beginning but I had to pump insane amounts of CO2 to get the drop checker at least blue-green. I found out that the problem was the JBL inline diffusor (something was not tight enough, CO2 was leaking somewhere and not going through the membrane, not producing fine bubbles). One month ago, I have purchased another inline diffusor (Q-Grow) and now I finally see, how this is supposed to work. Set to 120 dpm, the 20 mg/l drop checker is constant light green = since one month, I finally have stable and sufficient levels of CO2 in the tank. I also see a decrease in pH (used to be 7.6+, now I measure 7.3-7.4).