• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Water KH info.

Martin cape

Hi guys.

I am going to be getting a CO2 injection setup going soon. But, I've been reading that the pH in soft water will fluctuate a lot when I do this.

My tap water has a pH of 7.6 and a KH of less than 1dKH. I will only be injecting CO2 through the door so will the pH change too much? I know the pH will drop as co2 is injected, then rise again when it stops.

Could I raise the KH to say 4dKH using sodium bicarb to stop the pH swing being as severe?

Thanks guys. I'm new to this.

You might find this article usefull: Water Chemistry & The Planted Tank

I'm in the same situation KH out of the tap is about two. I add 18g Sodium Bicarbonate to every 36 gallon water change to bring it up to KH = 5.

I'd bring it up slowly over several water changes if you already have livestock in your tank.

Really good article that. GH out of my tap is less than 1 too.

So, really I need to get my KH and GH about 4 degrees.

So, should I be adding the appropriate amount of sodium bicarb (for KH), Epsom salts and calcium chloride (for GH)

Or do I just add the salts and calcium chloride which raises both?

I follow what it says in the article:

To sum it up. To raise kH use baking soda. One teaspoon will increase the kH of 50 liters of water (13 gallons) by 4 degrees (68 ppm).

To raise gH use calcium chloride and Epsom salts. Add them separately or you will end up with calcium sulfate which takes a very long time to dissolve.
0.79 grams of calcium chloride and 0.33 grams of Epsom salts will raise 10 gallons of water about 1° of gH.

Quick question, the 10 gallons, is that US or UK gallons?
I assumed US since it's an American site.

BTW, I'd suggest you buy a small digital scale 0 - 100g. Ebay is full of them for a few pounds.
You can't be accurate working with dosing spoons IMHO.