Resolved! UKAPS shuts down when I post a conversation

Discussion in 'Technical/Help' started by BarryH, 24 Jul 2018.

  1. BarryH

    BarryH Member

    Joined:
    25 Feb 2017
    Messages:
    384
    Location:
    Derbyshire
    Whenever I start a "conversation" with another UKAPS member, when I write and then send the conversation, the conversation gets sent but both UKAPS and my internet connection shuts down.

    This has happened on a couple of occasions recently. Nothing like this happens when I post in the forums, just when I start a conversation. Any help or advice?
     
  2. LondonDragon

    LondonDragon Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    21 Feb 2008
    Messages:
    10,284
    Location:
    London
    Internet connection shuts down?
    How are you starting the conversation?
     
  3. BarryH

    BarryH Member

    Joined:
    25 Feb 2017
    Messages:
    384
    Location:
    Derbyshire
    By clicking on the name of the member I want to start a conversation with Paulo
     
  4. LondonDragon

    LondonDragon Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    21 Feb 2008
    Messages:
    10,284
    Location:
    London
    Do you click on the name and "Start a Conversation" or you click straight on "Contact" under the avatar (member photo)?
     
  5. ceg4048

    ceg4048 Expert/Global Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    11 Jul 2007
    Messages:
    8,942
    Location:
    Chicago, USA
    Hey Paulo,
    I confirm this behavior occurs either by clicking the name or by selecting "Start a Conversation" In my case, using the latest Firefox on windoze10. In fact the entire tab in a multi-tab session closes but does not log you off immediately. You can recover the session by opening a new tab and clicking the bookmark.

    Cheers,
     
    BarryH likes this.
  6. LondonDragon

    LondonDragon Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    21 Feb 2008
    Messages:
    10,284
    Location:
    London
    Thanks Clive, I think it has something to do with the "Contact" Button add-on, I have disabled it now, could you please test and let me know if still an issue, thanks
     
    BarryH likes this.
  7. ceg4048

    ceg4048 Expert/Global Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    11 Jul 2007
    Messages:
    8,942
    Location:
    Chicago, USA
    Seems to work now Paulo. I was about to blame it on micronutrient toxicity. You saved me.

    Cheers,
     
    BarryH, LondonDragon and Zeus. like this.
  8. Daneland

    Daneland Member

    Joined:
    24 Apr 2015
    Messages:
    209
    Location:
    Maidstone

    I would have thought that you were going to say CO2 distribution ...
     
    sparkyweasel and ceg4048 like this.
  9. ceg4048

    ceg4048 Expert/Global Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    11 Jul 2007
    Messages:
    8,942
    Location:
    Chicago, USA
    That too, of course. Goes without saying...

    Cheers,
     
  10. Zeus.

    Zeus. Member

    Joined:
    1 Oct 2016
    Messages:
    2,601
    Location:
    Yorkshire,UK
    :lol:
     
  11. LondonDragon

    LondonDragon Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    21 Feb 2008
    Messages:
    10,284
    Location:
    London
    I did read all about the scientific evidence and it was inconclusive! so I decided to do the practical thing instead that actually works!
     
    BarryH likes this.
  12. BarryH

    BarryH Member

    Joined:
    25 Feb 2017
    Messages:
    384
    Location:
    Derbyshire
    Just sent you a message Paulo and everything now seems to work fine. Message sent and it returned me back to UKAPS. Thanks for the help.
     
  13. LondonDragon

    LondonDragon Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    21 Feb 2008
    Messages:
    10,284
    Location:
    London
    Glad its sorted, I will see if there is an update to the addon that was causing the issues, it did work fine in some browsers, if not then we just have to leave without it, it was added functionally just to try and make the forum a little more intuitive. There is a major upgrade to the software that I will have to perform at some stage, that will cause some re-learning how things work, which I have been dreading to upgrade yet as it's going to mean 3-4 weeks of work from me!!!
     
    BarryH likes this.

Share This Page

Facebook Page
Twitter Page
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice