• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Critique my hardscape Tree

Hi, this is my first time trying out a scape with woods. Ive been given a tall tank by a friend of mine quite some time ago and Ive been thinking a tree root would look nice drawing a line from top left down building its roots.

After buying couple of woods I realised my woods aren't thick enough to resemble a huge root. Trying to lego around i stumbled into a piece like a miniature tree with roots wrapping around.

Ive expanded the details by adding more tiny roots to enhance the hardscape.

I'd like to know if there's any need to enhance the details, and what kind of plants that will not outgrow the hardscape. Im trying to go low tech for this.

20180604_165523.jpg

Plant maintenance can be hard in such a deep tank, can you reach everywhere easily?

Not easily, the tank opening is also a limited space with equipments in the way. Im hoping to use plants that wouldn't overgrow.

It would be difficult to perform trimming

Yes maintenance will be difficult in that tank, but I'd go with it anyway.

I like what you've done so far, but you need much more of the same to take advantage of the height.
Use more rocks to get more height and cover the bottom of the tank so there isn't much sand left, and then add your wood.

If necessary use more wood, try one or two single branches so it looks like your existing wood grew from it.
The wood would look good breaching the surface, assuming you're going lidless, and then you could add some emergent growth too.