• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

The Fluval Flex 123l build

Adzi Adam

Seedling
This is my first build thread of an already established tank the fluval flex. I have recently acquired the urge to aquascape as i like the look of a nature aquarium which serves purpose of filtration and happiness for the fish and decoration.

I stocked my fish not just one species i have gathered many different fish at the start of my hobby, now since getting into the aquascape side of things which is why i have a varied mix. I will need to accommodate these fish so it wont be a massive shoal of one species list below;

Current fish in tank
4 Gold Lazer Corydoras
6 Sunset rainbow fish
4 Goldie river ranibow fish
6 Cherry barbs
10 Amano shrimp
1 Bristlenose pleco
1 Tiger pleco
3 Gouramis
12 Neon tetra
2 Glow light tetra
6 Red stripe tetra
3 Striped loaches
6 Tuxedo platies

I have placed some plants in the tank already.

Eleocharis Acicularis
Ludwigia Repens Rubin
Cryptocoryne Wendtii Green

I am using TNC Plugs along with TNC Fertiliser.

The most annoying problem i have had with the big flex tank is the pump noise, it is very loud sounds like an air pump. This needed to be replaced so i ordered the following items.

Eheim Compact Pump 1000lph
Fluval Edge Pre Filter Sponge
Swell Fine Media Bag 10 x 12"
Seachem Matrix 1litre

20190918_144043.jpg

I have fitted the prefilter sponge to pump as the fluval flex incorporates a back sump filtration system which gets very mucky with debris stuck at the bottom of the tank in the sump which i do gravel vac but this sponge will help the pump stay cleaner and not blast around crap from the back of the tank
20190918_155222.jpg

Cut the foam filter sponges to allow me to fill with Seachem Matrix as the fluval provided media is very small amount which could swing my tank if i am not careful.