• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Surface Scum, Dark stuff on Leaves, Yellow Gravel. HELP!

niru

Hello

I am a reasonable newbie (only 8 months) into planted aquarium. I have a 180 l Juwel Rio with 2 X 45 W HOT5, internal + Eheim Ecco Pro 200 filter, and a small pump for increased water circulation. I dose EI, pressurised CO2 at 2 bps. Water is hard (gH 17, kH 12, pH 7-8). I have a reasonable planted tank with around 45 small fish and 3 apple snails. Plants are Crypts, Sword, Hygrophilia, Rotala Macandra, E. densa, Vallisneria nana, Anubias, Ludwigia Rosafoliea, etc..

2 months back I got a small BGA on the front gravel, not a qorrysome stuff, but did a 4 day Blackout and increased NO3 & circulation, cleaned/added filters, and did a heavy prunning.

Of late I have seen that some section os the front gravel is a bit brownish-yellowish (is it a precursor of anothe BGA attack!?!?), theres some surface scum, AND some leaves of some plants have black/dark deposits (its not BGA as it doesnt get rubbed off as easily as one would have expected for BGA).

In our local LFS, there isnt a great plant variety (I am in Swissland), so one has to wait and plant as one gets. So there are no carpet and a lot of surface is light-exposed.

Filters are reasonably cleaned. I have removed the extra foams from Juwel inner filter and added cintered medium (as James suggested on some other forum), and plant leaves are seen gently swingling in the whole tank. Eheim output is on spray bar so good surface movement as well.

I am at loss to figure out the imbalance in the tank. Any tips/suggestions are most welcome. (Originally posted this on the water chemistry forum, guess this is a better place.)

Many thanks.

-niru

I think adding some shrimps to the clean up crew would help also.

How often do you do a water change?

Niru