• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Sponge Filters & Pump Recommendations

CrazyCory42

Hiya all, I’ve had my fish tank for about 3 years now and have had several different internal filters and now a canister filter. However, with the cost of electric going though the roof and my canister filter using 14w to run, I was looking into switching across to sponge filters instead. But I have no experience with them and don’t really know what I’m doing.

How many would I need for my tank? How powerful does the pump need to be? I was always told to double the filters manufacturers capacity. So my current filter is recommended for tanks up to 250L despite my tank only being 100L. Is that the same for pumps and sponges?

The tank is also in my bedroom so I need a quiet pump really. It doesn’t need to be silent, I know no air pump will be and I don’t mind a bit of a buzz. But I don’t want it to be super loud.

Thanks for your help.

Tank Specs:
100L tank (36”L x 12”D x 15”H)
Heated 23-24C
EF-250 All Pond Solutions external filter
50% weekly water change (seachem prime)

Stocking:
6 harlequin Rasboras
2 honey gourami
8 false julii corys
1 pepper cory
3 bronze corys
1 unknown cory
50 something RCS
6 amano shrimp
1 assassin snail

Water quality (tested with API master test kit):
Ammonia 0
NO3 40 (Tap water sits at 40ppm)
NO2 0
GH 8
KH 6
pH 7.2
CI2 0
C92B4957-93F0-4F96-B709-B1F9266B38B3.jpeg