• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Slow plant growth in high tech aquarium.

willsy

Hi,

Just wondered if I could ask a question with regard to my current parameters and dosing regime?

I have been running an aquarium for many years, but always been low tech. I recently moved into high tech / co2 injection, so this is all a learning curve currently!

The reason I'm posting this is that my plant growth isn't great at the moment. It's slow and not as I would have expected for high tech!

My current setup is a 140L aquarium with 2 Aquaray Grobeam 600's running at 35% intensity for 8 hours a day. I've ended up turning them right down as I had a problem with algae. I've slowly turned them up from 25% to 35% where they are running at the moment.

I have Seachem Flourite substrate.

I dose EI (macro's and micros) every other day for 5 days with 2 days rest. I then do a 50% water change using 50% tap water and 50% RO water. I do this as I live in a very hard water area and keep Tetra's and Dwarf Neon Rainbowfish.

I also dose liquid carbon daily (3ml) and also inject c02 (approx 2 to 3 bps).

Recently I also started dosing 15ml of Iron per week at water change as I thought this might help.

At water change I also dose 1/8 teaspoon Equilibrium and 1 teaspoon of GH boost.

My readings are as follows:

ph 6.6 (while dosing c02). Think it's usually around 7.4.
Nitrate 40ppm
GH = 11 drops (196ppm)
KH = 7 drops (125ppm)
Phosphate > 10ppm

Not sure if there are any obvious issues here? I know my water is quite hard and I'm dosing Equilibrium and GH boost at water change. Could I leave this out at least? Do I need the equilibrium and GH boost if I live in a hard to very hard water area and am mixing 50% RO and 50% tap?