• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Seachem Alerts

Carpman

I'm not a total newbie lol but always like to think I'm learning, I getting old now so cant actually remember.
Anyway, before I forget, I was thinking of purchasing the seachem alerts and stability for when I set up my new scape. I don't want to waste money unnecessarily, it has already cost me enough with the upgrades and stuff but if they are worth then so be it.
The filter media, fish, some of the plants and a full tank of the original water from the previous setup have been kept in holding the tank to help with cycle when I put them back in the scaped tank (50% water changes once per week).

20181114_212510.jpg

I have also been running the auto dosing-system on the plants while in holding the tank and they seem to be doing well I did not add Co2 and you can see the new shoots from the Helanthuim in the front dosing has been running for 5 days now.

I like the Seachem Alerts ...
but I liked them rather better when an extra Alert pad was included in the kit o_O

I’ve used them to monitor pH over the year, ammonia in a new set up where the filter had been rinsed etc & then put aside in the cabinet for several months ... until I saw some Must Have fish at the shop (& purchased right then as most local shops won’t “hold”fish) ... 24 hours later fish added to the new scape
The Ammonia Alert was useful in the first weeks - I’d water change as soon as there was a noticeable green tint
After 3 weeks, Ammonia Alert remained in neutral mode & I tossed it after 3 months

In general the Alerts seem to work well for a few months (I believe Seachem can provide details) BUT care needs to be taken that they remain wet at all times - lower them during a water change as it doesn’t take long for the sensor pad to dry out