• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Sand and Soil

mikewxyz

Hi UKAPS: I’m looking for some aquascaping advice. I’m new to the hobby and I’m trying to strike the right balance between a verdant aquascape that requires higher maintenance and only lasting a short while versus a more biotopic setup with lower maintenance that lasts a long time.
I like this African Cichlid set up show here on the Tropica website - Layout 21 - Tropica Aquarium Plants

What I like about this layout:
  • You can easily see the fish
  • I like the rocks and sand substrate
  • I like the two types of plants used
What I don’t like about this layout:
  • There are too few plants (both amount and type)
  • The plants don’t look healthy – maybe lack of CO2

The general recommendation is to use high nutrient soil and plant like crazy so algae doesn’t get the upper hand. I would rather use the proper amount of soil and use the matching amount of plants. Vallisneria spiralis and Cryptocoryne willisii (plus whatever else I choose) are substrate feeders and need soil (from what I understand). The question is, how do you prevent soil, sand and gravel from mixing?

Building the substrate - Aquascaping Wiki

Aquasabi recommends mesh fabric and PET foil to keep different substrates separate.

- Has anyone used this isolation scheme in a long term set up and would recommend it or is it just for a short term aquascape?

- If the soil is depleted of nutrients in a year or so and you need to add fertilizer capsules beyond that, should I just start with the gravel and capsule approach in the beginning and skip the soil layer all together?