• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Opinions and Help needed on my first low tech

sonicninja

Hi everyone,
I currently have a planted high(ish)tech planted tank and I want to begin planning a secondary nano tank specifically for shrimp.

I'd love it to be fully planted, CO2 injected etc but I want to do it on a budget and as its my first time keeping shrimp I want to focus entirely on them and not the plants.

Here is the proposed set-up-
ADA 30c Nano Aquarium
Hang on Back Filter
Heater/Thermostat
Simple LED Light Unit
H.E.L.P Advanced Planted Soil

My question is are there any plants that would survive in a tank with no additional CO2 Injection? I would maybe do this further down the line but for now want to make the shrimp my priority.

Thanks everyone!

Keith

Thank-you. I had looked at tropicas site but worried that some plants they classified as 'easy' Ive had some trouble growing in my fully injected tank (such as Stuaro).

If I were to go down the java fern, Anubias, Crypt route could I keep these happy with just liquid carbon?

I think you'd be ok without it. Get your lighting right and just use 1/10 - 1/5 EI, or do as I do, and use a similar dose of TNC complete. That is once or twice a week at 1/10 - 1/5 the recommended dose for hi-energy tanks.

Ive got some TNC Complete hand actually so I could dose that alongside the liquid carbon. Cheers!

Just read your tutorial, great stuff. Really helpful and gives me a great starting point!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

My experience with non CO2 (gas or liquid), low light:

most Crypts (all plants were Tropica)
Cyperus helferi - hit & miss, did outstanding in some tanks, not in others though lighting etc "seemed" similar
Vallisneria spiralis "Tiger"
Sagittaria subulata
Microsorum - various, though in a small tank, stick with the narrow/nana varieties