• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Oase Biomaster 850 - media choice

Karacticus

Hello, everyone.

I am in the process of setting up a large (300l) planted aquarium. I am taking each step as it comes, as I want to get myself off to a decent start. I am gradually buying up the things I need.

I have a Oase BioMaster Thermo 850, which has I think six media trays in it. I was initially planning to swap this out after watching some YouTube videos, but some of the advice I have found on this forum suggests sticking with the pre-installed sponges. Other members suggest using activated carbon and zeolite. I tend to get suckered into paying for shiny things, but in terms of getting the best from my filter would I be best placed sticking with the sponges and maybe swapping out the little plastic balls for a tray of activated carbon and one of zeolite? What do other people find works best? Or what would experienced members choose if starting such a system afresh?

My local water parameters are hard and I understand I have high nitrates, so anything I can do to improve my base water quality I'd like to do.

I intend to plant quite heavily and eventually have a good amount of livestock. It will be a high energy set-up with CO2.

I have searched for a thread about this and have had some success, but none have given a definitive. If there is such a thing.

I am finding the site really useful so far! Glad I joined.

Thanks

Mark

Hi @Karacticus and welcome to ukaps.
I have a Biomaster 850T and just use 3 layers of the foam provided with nothing in the other trays. With a high plant load you don't need a lot of media, best to get maximum throughput. Your plants will do the rest if they are growing well.
I wouldn't worry about the nitrates in the tapwater, just means you wont need to add as much with your fertiliser blend.