• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Nicks Low Tech - CRS Journal

Nick16

hi all,

Firstly a massive thank you to all of those that have given me advice and continue to do so, I really appreciate it.

ive decided to set up a dedicated CRS tank, which will cost me a small fortune as im starting from scratch.

im new to keeping CRS but have been floating around on a few forums gathering info, would love to hear all your comments so hopefully we can have an active journal. Due to the nature of these shrimp, its going to be a 'slow burner' as I want to get the tank established and plant up first before the little critters arrive.

on with the basics....

Tank: 21x21x21 inch cube. 150 litres.

Filter: Tetratec Ex1200

Heating: Hydor ETH 300w

Lighting: 3.5w 48 LED clip on

Substrate: 15 litres EBI GOLD

Hardscape: Oak from the garden

Ferts: Tropica and easycarbo, small dosage daily or every other day

Plants: Crypts, background plant yet too be decided!

Fauna: Crystal red shrimp (likely SSS grade) unless George has any PRL's ;)

Other: RO water re-mineralised with GH+, alder cones, catappa leaves, banana leaves and maybe oak leaves too. TDS meter.

Everything above I have purchased except from the oak which was scavenged. im currently running 2 ex1200's on my 4x2x2 mbuna set up so I will swap my new filter with one of those so I have a matured filter from the off. i will be planting up and dosing higher amounts for a week or two to get the plants established before the shrimp arrive.

have tested my tap water for TDS and its about 220.

have done a bit of resealing work on the tank so im praying it holds out, only time will tell. its 50% full at the moment with no problems and soaking my oak.

a quick snap of what the postie has brought so far
20131111_151016-1.jpg