• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Newbie needs help please.

MOBYS

Seedling
Hi,just returning to fishkeeping after a long break.The tank,fish,etc are no problem.So l thought I would go for the full monty and try plants.Iam the stage of giving up.My aim just a simple low tech tank,no co2,and a few easy plants that actually grow.Nearly everything seem to be not healthy.Been reading up a bit,so I've tried seachem flourish and small doses of excel.I have no great knowledge like some here of names etc,but I will try.So I have several valls,about four amazon sword types and a couple of Anubius tied to driftwood.None are doing well.The tank is 85 litres that come with leds.The leds do seem quite bright(marina).Iam in London so I have hard water.I keep the lights 9 hours a day.Most of plants are yellowing with brown patches.
Any help or tips would greatly appreciated as I just seem to be throwing money at it with no results.Thks Dave.

Last edited:
How long have the plants been in the tank? If they are fairly new, give them a couple of weeks.

Stick to flourish and excel. Any change in ferts/lights/CO2 will show results after two weeks

Thks for your reply.The plants been there about four weeks now.Maybe I'am a bit impatient?.What I find frustrating is after reading many knowledgable threads here that are impressive,all I want is a very simple set up with growing plants and preferably green.
Thks Dave. :lol:

Ok Thks.

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    845.3 KB · Views: 91
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    812.8 KB · Views: 86
Last edited:
What sort of fish stocking is there? I am no expert but to me that looks like you could be low on nitrogen.
It's quite well stocked really with a mixture of ottos,corys .xrays tetras,rainbows,wcmm,harlequins.Thks.