• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

New to the planted tank...

Suzanah

Seedling
This is my first time trying so here goes.

I'm new to the planted tank and I've tried to add easy low care, lower light plants. There's rotala rotundifolia, java fern, some link of anubias and marimo moss balls along with a fairly large piece of driftwood. I haven't added fish yet. It was set up a few days ago and everything seems to be doing pretty good except the anubias. I'm using API Leaf Zone Plant as a fert. The tank is sitting at about 78 F right now. Is this normal for anubias to do this? Does it take them a little while to settle in like crypts do?

This is the vid I have:

Hi Suzannah, nice tank. I'd try a couple of changes if you want some real growth from your plants. using an air driven filter will drive off any co2 in the tank which your plants need. You can add co2 yourself using some of the pressurised kits available or a product like liquid easycarbo. There is some good reading in the 'articles section of the UKAPS page. Enjoy :)

Hiya. The anubias on the left and I think right isnt the same as most anubias. It can only stay submerged for so long it needs its leaves out of water that's whay you have been struggling with those. Its not a deficiency or lack of co2 etc.

Api leaf zone I believe also doesn't contain all the necessary nutrients needed by plants but other than the anubias it all looks very healthy

To an extent air driven filters can drive off co2 but this isnt a co2 injected tank and it will actually bring in atmospheric co2.