• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Critique my hardscape Nano forest using heather

Kezzab

Collected some dead heather while on the hills. Have jammed it into a wee 12 ltr tank. I quite like the effect. If i actually turn it into a scape it'll be in a 15ltr tank that's a bit deeper front to back.

Challenge will be to find plants small enough not to quickly overwhelm the hardscape.

Comments and suggestions welcome.
WP_20180603_21_10_15_Rich (3).jpg

Kezzab

I cannot comment on the Heather wood as I have no knowledge of it at all.

Being a small tank it can pose a few concerns especially perspective and the focal point.

Looking at the lower half it looks very interesting. The large rock is the starting point of Aquascape and everything should fade into the distance by thinner DW and smaller rocks which you have done very well.

Its a pity I cannot say the same about the top half. Those two thick pieces on the top look out of place in comparison with the lower half of your Aquascape. Instead of fading off into the distance, all of a sudden they appear as if they are right in front of your eyes.

What is required is heavy at the front and lighter at the back. Very sorry to say those pieces just do not work where they are now.

Keith:wave::wave:

Looks good for such a small tank!

Agree with Keith that perhaps try to have the thicker pieces in front and thinner fading out into distance .

Kezzab

I must admit the smaller the tank space the more difficult it can be. Keep at it and you will get it to the best you can working with all the hardscape you have.

I do not like repeating myself, but if you had made a mock tank all these concerns could have been sorted out first.

Kezzab
If i actually turn it into a scape it'll be in a 15ltr tank that's a bit deeper front to back.