• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

My First Attempt with a Light Box

Dave Spencer

This picture is no great shakes, but it is my first attempt. :?

Basically, I have lined a cardboard box the same dimensions as my 60cm x 30cm tank with silver foil, and placed it on top of the tank. The lid of the box has a hole cut in it centrally, to allow a remote flash gun to be fired directly down on to the tank. The box is about 50% taller than the height of the tank.

What I haven`t done, yet, is to place a diffuser between the light box and the tank. This could be something as simple as a large sheet of tracing paper.

Hardware is a Nikon D40 and a Nikon SB-600 fired remotely using a SC-28 sync cord. I used a desk lamp to give a high light from the right, that gives a warm glow to the rock on the left.

The photos were taken in full daylight with the tank lights off, so the beauty of this method is that I can take pictures any time of day, without having to wait for the dark evenings.

LB006psss.jpg

The whole set up is a bit Heath Robinson, but it is a start. I still have a lot to learn about the flash gun, but hopefully I will be able to show some kind of improvement over the coming weeks.

I definitely intend to make up some more light boxes for my other two tanks, and I am on the hunt for better materials.

I think a diffuser and a white background would definitely be an instant improvement.

Cheers, Dave.

wow lovely shot :)

a cheap idea for diffusing the light is to use the bottom of a plastic milk bottle over the light source, I use this for my flower macro shots and it works wonders.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/cryllius/s ... 276611451/

no need for any expensive gear!!