• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

My CO2 tank got empty overnight

enb141

Hi, my CO2 tank got empty over night, before that I had it running at about 2 air drops per second on a 75 US Gallon tank, the CO2 tank was 5 pounds with a tunze double gauge regulator controlled with a solenoid tunze solenoid, the CO2 tubing was from Aquatek and the bubble counter was a fluval or a plastic one, same for the co2 dissolver.

I knew the water was returning because I didn't have a check valve, but I had a solenoid so do you think that helped to drop the whole CO2 overnight, was almost full.

I'm no expert by any means but the most likely scenario is that you have a leak. When you get a new bottle check all the connections with soapy water to see where the leak is coming from. :)

What was the bottle PSI before it went empty?
My 500l tank eats CO2 but it normally takes a couple of days to drop from 1000PSI to nothing.
Sounds like a leak to me also.
Washing up liquid bubbles over fittings is best way to check, but be careful around electrics with the bubbles OFC

I use something like this...

ldf-brush-3.jpg

A few points of clarification are needed:

1 Is your CO2 solenoid valve on a timer? Assuming it is, what duration was the CO2 set to come on for?

2 If you didn't have a check valve, then the tank water could have been siphoned back into the CO2 regulator assuming that the solenoid valve was in the ON position. But, for this to happen, the working pressure of your regulator would have to drop considerably. Please check the logic of my reasoning.

3 Is your regulator of the two-stage variety? I'm not referring to the double gauges. Some regulators can suffer from 'End of tank dump' but this occurs when the cylinder pressure is getting low.

Maybe Tommy is correct. Perhaps you had a leak in your system.