• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Mangrove Roots

frothhelmet

I posted this on another forum to some guy who wanted real mangroves in his tank and thought it would be useful here. Hope someone finds it useful.

Ok, I have some experience with mangrove roots. I am from Hawaii and they have been introduced there. I went out and collected some live mangroves (Rhizophora mangle) from brackish/full seawater environments, and here is what I found.

First of all, it is impossible to use the roots submerged unless you have a huge tree connected to them on top. This is because the roots are actually very buoyant on their own (something you can't see in pictures is that the whole tree would float if you ripped it out of the deep sediment because of their roots), so even if you could get a hold of them they would be impractical to use. Also, since they are not a hardwood but rather a very spongy softwood they rot immediately. A further problem is that big mangrove trees cannot adjust to freshwater from salt/brack. I took several rather large trees and none of them grew any new roots or leaves, and after a period of about a month all their leaves dropped off and the plants just died. Seedlings however do great.