• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Liquid carbon

I've been using Flourish Excel for about 6 months now. It seems to work ok & less algae than I've had in other setups in previous years.

The term "liquid carbon" is a bit misleading ,its a chemical carbon source available to plants so is a good alternative to pressurised CO2, Its definetly not a con but overdosing and fatalities is the danger, I have used Easy Life and Dennerle Bio, I like the Bio as its a droplet application. Check plants vallis doesnt do well and fertilisers need incresing as its more than a low tech in my opinion

Hi all,

Does anyone use liquid carbon for low tech setups?
Thanks

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I do, in one of my tanks that recieves a large amount of daylight the entire day periode during the summer. Starting from march with artificial lights switched off.. I have to as long as i don't want to use regular co2 and i dont. :) This tank is stacked with Anubias, i experience this pant grows a ton of algae if it's recieving to much light and little co2. This plant is very sensitive to light overdose, it grows to slow to coop with it.. So to help them during this periode i dose 3ml Easycarbo on 120L daily till it's time again to switch on the artificial lights, than i stop dosing again. I start when i see algae develop on it's leaves as a marker and 2 months later all anubias are 90% clean again. So it definitively helps a lot.

After using this regime 3 years succesfully, i wonder if it's due to the gluts algicidal propperties and if regular co2 would have the same effect.. I might give it a try next years summer to find out. :)

i wonder if it's due to the gluts algicidal propperties and if regular co2 would have the same effect.