• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

L'aqaurium 720 (1500)

Hello all.
This is my first attempt at creating a journal on here. I've been lurking around the forum for a while now and took the plunge into bankrupting myself and becoming an addict of the hobby. I'll no doubt make many errors along the way but it's all a learning curve. I've had small shrimp based planted tanks over the last two years and wanted to do BIG on one.

I suppose the advantage of a big set up too is any nutrient issues or water issues are much more manageable in the sense of plenty of room to rectify with out sudden issues.

The title pretty much gives away the set up itself. Having taken a liking to the few sumped set ups I've seen floating around. I really wanted to give this a go myself.
I bought this set up last year, but when covid hit. I head to dedicate most of my time to making hand gels and what not for the NHS and police services so it got put on the back burner.

Set up so far.

Aqurium systems L'aqaurium 720 150x55x52 LHW plus sump and glass cabinet.

Main tanks is 500l ish
Sump 200l
Return pump is there DC5000 pump so 10 times turn over.
I like the fact it's programmable. So feeding time, night time flow rate etc can me much calmer.
I've opted to give both Alfagrog and Seachem matrix a go as the main filter medium, along with the 3 x filter socks, and filter wool in between.

Heater - still to decide which ones to go for. Maybe two eheim or similar.

Lighting:
- aquarium systems series 6 led unit. This has a phenomenal amount of customisation on which I'm going to spend this weekend playing around with and confusing myself. This unit is one sexy bit of kit. Maybe a tad technical but a worthy investment.

Hardscape: