• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Just starting out, help choosing filter

storm

Hi

I'm just starting out in the hobby and have got my self an 80l aquarium similar in size and spec to the dennerle scapers tank.

I plan to keep shrimp and plants only and wanted to get some advice on filtration.

Should I go internal or external and what sort of flow rates am I looking for?

Thanks in advance!

Jbl or tetratec with a min turnover of 10x so circa 800lph will be a good “budget” option.

Eheim are “the rolls royce” option in the minds of many aquarists and generally speaking it’s my experience that they are. The 2224, for how quiet it is alone, are the filter I keep returning to for anything up to 70l and for what they are they are pretty close to faultless, if a little gutless when dirty.

Hi

I'm just starting out in the hobby and have got my self an 80l aquarium similar in size and spec to the dennerle scapers tank.

I plan to keep shrimp and plants only and wanted to get some advice on filtration.

Should I go internal or external and what sort of flow rates am I looking for?

Thanks in advance!
I would advise an external filter. An internal filter will occupy too much space inside a small 80l tank. As @Garuf said, any filter with a flow rate around 800 lph would be most appropriate. Since you are not planning to have fish, the bio-load will be low and a filter with a lower turnover rate would also work. Note that you need to add a fine mesh to the filter intake so that shrimp are not sucked in.

Thanks for your replies. I am hoping to find a filter with an integrated heater so I don't have to place one in the tank or inline

I have been looking for filter intake guards but have yet to find one

You can also buy stainless mesh to put round the inlet. That’s what I did with my stainless steel set.

My post is here.