• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Island Getaway - 20l low-tech

printf

Seedling
This is my first attempt at a planted tank, I decided to go for a low-tech setup with an open mind towards EI if needed further down the line. I searched for a while and managed to get the tank, light, heater, filter all for £20.

Tank
- Arcadia Arc 20 litre 30cm x 25cm x 30cm

Substrate
- John Innes #3 capped with 2-4mm black gravel
- nordic aquarium gravel

Fertilizers
- None

Light
- Arcadia Arc Pod 9W with the standard pinkish bulb

Filtration
- Cheapo 200lph containing a sponge, couple of ceramic rings, bit of carbon, filter floss. DIY spray bar.

CO2
- None

Temperature
- 25C

Inhabitants
- None yet

Plants
- Hygrophila polysperma
- Pogostemon helferi
- Cryptocorne wendtii 'Tropica'
- Anubias barteri var. nana
- Rotala rotundifolia
- Bacopa compacta
- Bacopa monnieri

I settled on a scape and realised that because I was going for a Walstad type setup I was going to have to use a bit of construction so out came the polystyrene.

25112011_POLY_FORMERS_TOP.jpg

25112011_POLY_FORMERS_FRONT.jpg

I filled in the islands with soil and then realised I would be left with very deep soil beds and so out came the soil and in went some stones to form the bulk of the islands.

25112011_POLY_STONES_TOP.jpg

The soil went back in and then was capped with some black gravel.

25112011_CAPPED_SUBSTRATE_FRONT.jpg

25112011_CAPPED_SUBSTRATE_TOP.jpg

Next was the hardscape, a grand term for some pebble type rocks that i'd collected ages ago out of the sea.

25112011_HARDSCAPE_FRONT.jpg

Planted up, heater in and the filter in situ but not running as the silicone on the spraybar I had fudged together wasn't ready yet. Out of about 30 pictures the one below is the best FTS, just couldn't capture it properly.

25112011_FTS_B.jpg