• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Is it necessary to buy special food for fish ?

eminor

Hello, i'm new in fish keeping, i always focused on plants, fish can be cool too. I have britlenoze pleco and corie's, the one that kind of clean the soil. I have a lot of mosquitoe larvae for free and to be honest i don't really want to buy special food, does mosquitoe larvae is enough to feed them ? thx

Last edited:
@eminor I think nothing can beat live food or for example plants collected somewhere when it comes to feeding carnivores, omnivores or herbivores. Special food for fish is in most cases just highly processed food similar to processed foods we eat or feed other animals with.
live larvae, worms etc = fresh beef steak while special dry food = plant based beef steak rubbish

Is this the usual mosquito larvae that hangs around at the surface? If so I think your corydoras will struggle to catch many and your bristlenose probably won’t be able to catch any at all.

Live food is definitely better than dry food though.

Cheers

Hi all,
I have britlenoze pleco and corie's, the one that kind of clean the soil. I have a lot of mosquitoe larvae for free and to be honest i don't really want to buy special food, does mosquitoe larvae is enough to feed them ?
You will need to feed your fish some other foods.

Your Bristlenose (Ancistrus sp.) will appreciate some vegetables and algal wafers and your Corydoras some granules and live food. Corydoras really like <"Grindal Worms"> and you could feed them and "Fluval Bugbites" as a staple.

Edit: I agree with @Conort2 , neither are fish that are really going to eat Mosquito larvae (although <"Tetras etc love them">), though the Corydoras will eat Blood-worms (Chironomid larvae).