• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Improving a lawn for insects

Thanks for the inspiration. I really like the look of the first marjoram and will definitely get some. We both (my brother and i) have sun trap areas where herbs should do well. His is an area next to the house that's full of stones left by the builders 80 years ago, so I need to dig it up and improve the soils drainage and makeup a little but it's a nice sized strip that I'm free to play with. I also have the same spot but concreted over, so it's pallet planter gardens there. I have been growing lavender cuttings for a few months now, some nice large fennel and rosemary, so the marjoram and some thyme should fit in well.

I saw the discussion on lawns in the other thread and thought I'd update here. I seeded yellow rattle, birds foot trefoil, selfheal, cats ear, some red clover and another I've forgotten. I had scarified the lawn, finely seeded in sand and then trampled it in and waited until spring and nothing, nada, zilch, bupkis:mad: I was probably expecting to much but hopefully the seed is still there for if things improve.
I think the grass is just to strong even though it looks bad. My next plan is to grow some plugs and add them to see if they can cope. Going to try rattle again for obvious reasons but add some thuggish daisies into the mix, plus there is a really nice small geranium all around our area in the grasses that has a nice purple flower. Then if it proves more successful I will try to slowly increase diversity over the years.

On the plus side the cats ear has done much better this year, the white clover has taken over more area and the achillea is quite strong, so hopefully conditions are improving.