• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

How often do I need to change Drop checker solution?

I usually redo it when i change co2 tanks or if i knock the solution into the tank.

I had they same question I was going to post. I have read on here an old tutorial that states weekly after water change and this advice is echoed by CO2Art. Personally I cannot see why this would be the case unless you have build up of biofilm that could inhibit effectiveness, there is some reason the solution becomes 'stale', or ingress with tank water? As I am not experienced in this matter and new to using Co2 I would have thought @Zeus. advice from his experience is what I would choose. I am sure there are many other opinions on this.

Edit..... "from his experience is what I would choose" would be around monthly.

This seems to be the advice from Co2 Supermarket.

In some cases, a drop checkers airlock is an ideal place for bacteria to have a party. It's warm and moist and they will grow and reproduce and form a slimy film in and around the drop checker entrance and it can cover the entrance completely. This can form within a week... :)

Some have it often (all the time) others never, don't ask me why... And if you have it you'll clean it.

A quick weekly clean with the water change as maintenance is more appropriate rather than having to change the solution then?

What about aquarium water evaporation inside the drop checker which then condensing and diluting the solution?

What about aquarium water evaporation inside the drop checker which then condensing and diluting the solution?