• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

How best to set up a long thin shallow tank?

ForestDave

Hi.
I'm thinking of setting up a long thin tank. Probably around 30x30x140cm. I have a oase biomaster thermo 600 and can either use an inline diffuser or a reactor. Can I simply put a spraybar up one end and the filter inlet at the other or would it require some extra assistance to ensure good CO2 distribution like 1 or 2 Maxspect gyres?
Thanks!

I have a similar 106L tank, long and shallow. It's been happiest since I had a spray bar right across the back, end to end. It's possible to angle the two parts differently. I have euro-ledges which can be useful as a way to deflect the current if it seems too strong, or to create some bubbling action for corys. I don't have CO2. Fish choice has to be considered as there isn't so much separation between levels. I had a Fluval 107, but upgraded to a 307. Some suggest those small water whooshed pumps for extra circulation. I had one which worked for a single day. Obviously one can end up trimming more, or sooner. I'm sure I'm not adding anything you haven't thought of! they do have a nice cinemascope feel.

I have euro-ledges which can be useful as a way to deflect the current if it seems too strong, or to create some bubbling action for corys.
euro-ledges are a new one to me .. can you explain them? I would also like to set up a long shallow tank, ideally with emersed growth along the back.