• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Hi everyone, first Aquascape here

ScaperJoe

Hi Folks

I am brand new to the hobby this year after getting absorbed by Green Aqua's YouTube videos and thought I would share my first Aquascape with you, planted on 2nd March 2021. I added a few more plants after 1 week to plug some gaps (and my Anubias Petite arrived):

Day 1
Day 1.jpg

Day 19 (today)
Day 19.jpg

If you are interested in the setup:

ADA 60P tank (60 litres)
Twinstar III 600E (6.5 hours per day for now)
Fluval 107 Canister Filter (+ 16/22mm lily pipes)
^ Seachem Matrix + Purigen ^
CO2 injection
Eheim Skim 350
RO water (+ Seachem Equilibrium to TDS 120)
No heater but keeping around 23 degrees
ADA Power Sand Advance (2L)
ADA Amazonia Normal Type (9L)
ADA Amazonia Soil Powder (3L)
Hardscape - “Brown Holey Rock”
Hardscape - “Desert Finger Wood”
Basically the whole Seachem ferts range
  1. Anubias Coin
  2. Anubias Petite
  3. Bucephalandra Kedagang
  4. Eleocharis Acicularis 'Mini'
  5. Alternanthera Reinekii 'Mini
  6. Cuba + Monte Carlo (1-2 grow)
  7. Hygrophila 'Araguaia'
  8. Cyperus Helferi
  9. Marsilea Crenata
  10. Spiky Moss, Weeping Moss + Flame Moss (1-2 grow)
The tank has cycled now and I have ordered my fish, shrimps and snails. I'm keen for some feedback, plus any tips and tricks on how to improve + maintain this. I'm thinking I need to either move or get rid of the Cyperus Helferi in the foreground as it is just too big?

I'm also starting to see the start of some hair algae which worries me!

Cheers!

Looks great and should be stunning fully grown in. Your drop checker looks a bit dark in the picture. I would place the co2 diffuser on the opposite side of the tank to your filter outlet. I find that way the flow of water is down and this keeps the co2 in suspension longer. Giving better results for less gas used.